Wish me luck

Come the beginning of next week I will have been in my current job for six months, and it will have been a year since I was made redundant from probably the most flexible employment I have ever had (not that I didn’t work hard, because I did). The job was a blessing which came at exactly the right time but, I think, had there been other options open to me (closer to home) I wouldn’t have taken the pen when it was offered. Desperation does strange things to a person, they make them see the good in things that isn’t necessarily there. But, at the time (five months unemployed) it was a massive “yes please” which led me to where I am currently sitting.

With the introduction of a WFH ban in my office, due to a change in our department’s position within the organisation, I realised that I needed to make some changes of my own, so I started to look for a new job. I know, I know, I’ve only been here for six months, but that’s enough time for me to realise that the 5am wake up and everything which goes with a long bus commute simply isn’t what I want to be doing with my life. I hate that I am constantly tired, hate that I no longer have motivation to do anything resembling having fun when I finish work (all I do is a bit of cleaning, amuse Darcy and try and find something entertaining on the TV for a few hours before I go to bed). I do not want to spend the rest of my working life this way, I don’t even really want to spend the rest of the next six months this way (though my contract was only originally for 12 months it looks as though they have determined they would like to extend it already – good news if I lived less than 90 minutes away).

Just yesterday I heard back from one of the companies I have applied to for a new job. There are very few large businesses in the small town where I have made my home (almost since birth, to be fair), and they have invited me for a face-to-face interview in a couple of weeks’ time. This is brilliant news. Jobs are few and far between in W***, but well-paid jobs in the industry I work in are gold dust. To find two jobs to apply for in such a short space of time is nothing short of a miracle, and getting interviews for them is incredible. I am still waiting to hear from the other company (I interviewed for them just over four years ago, but had no luck at that time), but I am keeping my fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

