An update – long overdue

Where has the year gone? It feels like only yesterday that I was typing “It’s nearly May”. Well, as of Saturday it will be July. Yes! July! I have no idea where the last couple of months have gone, though clearly they have vanished in a puff of smoke and I am left looking back at them wondering exactly what I did with all that time.

Granted I haven’t had much in the way of spare time since I started the ‘new’ job in January; waking up at 5am, leaving the house at 6am, and getting home at 6pm tends to effectively reduce the day down to very few spare and relaxing moments. Add freelancing into the mix and you have what could equate to very busy and very full, exhausting days.

It is for the reasons outlined above that I have started to look for another job. Having spoken with my new manager (the old one came back from long-term sick leave and handed his notice in) I am realising that I am not the only one who is unhappy with the new stipulations that have been placed on us. I work in a digital world (really, everything I do is displayed online somewhere) yet no longer am I able to be at home when someone looks over my flat, or I need to make a doctor’s appointment; now I have to book time off, even though I could still very effectively do the tasks I have on my virtual to-do list from anywhere (including a Starbucks).

Most recently I have applied for two jobs which would require no more than a 10-minute commute. Just 10-minutes rather than the 90 it currently takes me. The thought of being able to get home so quickly is actually blissful. The jobs are both 37.5 hours a week, but what do I care that I will be starting at 9 and finishing at 5.30 if I don’t have to leave the flat until 8.30 and will get home by 6pm at the latest. Extra time in bed, extra time in the home, extra time to spend with my precious bundle of fluff, and the ability to rebuild the friendships that have had no choice but to fall by the wayside because of my lack of time during the week. I am not going to pin all my hopes on anything happening, because I have no doubt that there will be plenty of people who want these same jobs and are desperate to work closer to home, but that I was able to find any jobs near home is enough to make me smile! That, in itself, is a miracle as I am perpetually tired.

Anyway, a brief update on all the things I have been doing in the last couple of months – not much, if I am honest, but more than nothing too:

1. I started planning for this year’s NaNo (National Novel Writing Month for those not in the know). I have (I think) an idea that could work, though I am going to know more when I start actually getting the planning down on paper in a more structured way. I do not want a repeat of last year when I was writing up until the very last second, and I had no clue what I was doing, so ended up with a pile of crap that wasn’t worth printing. I am also in the process of trying to persuade a writer friend of mine to take part so that I have some moral support, and someone to push me when I think I can no longer do it!

2. I went on a date. A date! It was blinking awful. I had only been chatting with him for less than a week when he persuaded me that we should meet, so I agreed. One day after work a couple of weeks ago I met him for coffee and it was horrible. He’s not a bad guy, and I think that this may actually be part of the issue. He was clearly still very interested in his ex (with whom he has a child) and I came away from the evening feeling both exhausted and frustrated (not in that way) because I had spent one of my precious evenings (and when you only get a few hours before bed after work they are precious) on a date with him. I wish that I had spent a bit more time getting to know him in order to realise before I met him face-to-face that we had nothing in common.

3. I have been writing. Not much, about 2500 words so far, and the whole thing requires editing and finishing, but then I will be able to post it and will no longer feel incredibly guilty that it’s been over 8 months since I posted a single word on my creative account at AO3.

4. Darcy turned one at the end of May, and I was able to take the most beautiful photo of her, she has turned into a stunning lady, but that’s not surprising when you consider that she was the most adorable of kittens. Her fur is very thick, and her colouring is incredible (but perhaps I am biased). You can judge for yourself, I took the below picture on her first birthday (I get the feeling she knows that she is very well loved).

darcy-at-1

Leave a Reply

