Finally!

Today was, again, a bit of a mixed bag when it came to good and bad.  On the side of good we have an interview that I think went well.  Tomorrow one of the people who interviewed me is going to call me again, so that sounds relatively positive.  I wish that it was like it used to be: interview one day, tell you that you are ideal that same day, offer you the job and then Bob’s your uncle, Fanny’s your aunt, you’ve got a new job!  Turns out that this new job wouldn’t even start until November (bit of a financial stretch for me, but I can just about do it – we are almost the whole way through September after all), but it could be a good career change.  Granted, right now it’s all moot, I haven’t been offered the job yet!

Embarrassment alert! Got halfway through the interview and a phone starts ringing.  I am sitting there being asked a question about how I see creativity and tech working well together and I’m thinking “sounds like my phone, but it can’t be, I switched it off…” of course I go into my bag and it’s my phone.  It’s the agency I have been waiting for what feels like an eternity to hear from!  Of course, I just switch the phone off, tell a story (which unfortunately is true) about an interview I was in where my Kindle alert went off when my Minions lives had recharged.  Being gamers they just laughed.  I said that I hadn’t even realised what it was at the time, but when I realised felt a little embarrassed, though didn’t bother to say anything.

As soon as I got out of the interview I called the agency back and was told that I hadn’t been chosen for the job I went for over a fortnight ago.  I think I already knew that this was the case, but I have to admit I was more than a little frustrated with their reasons.  I would rather hear anything but “she’d get bored…”  Seriously, that’s the reason I was given; “She’s too techy and she’d get bored.”  I have to say that they could have gone with “she’s not what we’re looking for,” or “she’s over-qualified,” or “there was someone better.” But to be overlooked on their assumption that I would get bored with the role pisses me off.  How do they know this?  Seriously I have done some really crappy jobs in my time and I have never quit anything after a few months (this isn’t quite true, 23 years ago I left a job after three months because the company refused to allow me time off to sit an exam, but I had another job within days).  That they took this long to make their decision and gave such feeble excuses when they did, makes me wonder if I didn’t have a good escape (at least this is what I am telling myself).

After I got home, a long trek which took an inordinate amount of time because of all the bus pass users, I got a call from the agency I spoke with yesterday about a very local job.  Turns out that I have been shortlisted for interview and they want to conduct a phone interview on Friday.  I am getting a bit more interest in my CV at the moment (which is a good thing).  So here’s to tomorrow and the feedback from today, and Friday for the first interview for a different role.

I just have to hope – as I told the men interviewing me today – that people can either see beyond my most recent role to the other experience I have, or that they can embrace all the experience I have and realise that I would be an asset to a new employer as I have a lot to offer in enthusiasm, experience and eagerness to learn.

Leave a Reply

