Thursday

Wow, Friday is certainly long in coming but second to Friday afternoon is Thursday; the day lasts a long time as I am looking forward to the end of it when I can pack up my work laptop, make sure everything is closed down and then cart it all home to unpack on my own desk in the lounge. Tomorrow morning is not a 6am wake up call, there is no frantic cycle ride to the station and no panic when they announce (or don’t) that the train is delayed.

A few weeks ago I had a meeting with my new manager about a matter I had been thinking about for a while. I love my job, but I hate the commute, the 120 minutes spent on a train and the 2 mile cycle ride come rain or shine. I proposed that I work from home one day a week and he, knowing that I work my proverbial butt off on a daily basis, agreed. So, every Friday I now spend Friday sitting in my lounge staring at two computer screens and drinking copious amounts of tea. It is a welcome relief to not have to get up at 6, rush around like a headless chicken getting ready to leave and then (especially at this time of year) cycling in the pouring rain to get to the station; then spend an hour sitting on a train that is so crowded arm space is a thing of the past.

Also tomorrow I am going to see The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel with my friend Hazel (who is, lucky thing, getting ready to retire in less than 2 weeks). I seem to be spending a great number of my weekends at the cinema of late – in fact I have seen more films in the last two months than I saw in the whole of last year, and it looks like this is going to be a very good year for cinema for that matter; Avengers: Age of Ultron, Mockingjay Part 2, Pitch Perfect 2, Jurassic World, and of course the new Pixar Inside Out. I know that a lot of people will be harping on about the new Star Wars but TBH I have never been a fan (ducks the rotten apples now) and I am not going to be standing in line for any time at all no matter how many times my nephew begs…

Leave a Reply

