Milk damages books

Yep, you read it here first; milk damages books.

This may not be news to many of you, but last night I discovered just how much damage half a pint of milk can do to a set of books if spilled. I had just carried my nightly glass of milk upstairs to bed, leaned down and ended up spilling well over 2/3 of the glass onto the bed, it soaked through the duvet (which will now need an expensive wash this coming weekend) and seeped through the pages of two books on my bed. It wouldn’t have been so bad if it had just soaked through one of them “Twilight” (which is now crusted with milk – I looked this morning), but the other book is a college text which is now all stuck together, every page is melted into another and unreadable.

I have just contacted the OU and they are sending me (thank goodness) a replacement book first class (which should mean it arrives tomorrow or Wednesday), and I will just have to be much more careful. What’s irritating is that now I will have to reread the old chapters (revision purposes) in order that I am able to re-mark what I have marked previously – because that is also completely damaged.

This will definitely teach me to be more careful, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

