Whoa

Okay, the next 16 months are going to be an absolute nightmare, and REALLY hard work, but I have signed up for it now and most of me doesn’t regret it, though I am terrified.

I can hear you asking “What the hell is she going on about” so I am going to tell you.

A few days ago I started to work out how long it was going to take me to graduate if I took the courses that I really want to take to finish my degree. My original schedule is as follows:
A207 October 2005 – June 2006 (From Enlightenment to Romanticism)
A210 October 2006 – June 2007 (Approaching Literature)
A300 October 2007 – June 2008 (20th Century Literature: Texts and Debates)
A215 October 2008 – June 2009 (Creative Writing)
AA316 October 2009 – June 2010 (The Nineteenth Century Novel)
AA306 February 2011 – October 2011 (Shakespeare: Text and Performance)

This is of course if I selected the courses I really wanted to do – From the beginning I really wanted to do Shakespeare, but the Feb-Oct schedule just mucks it all up. Going by this original schedule I wouldn’t officially graduate until 2012 and wouldn’t be able to get enrolled on the Teacher Training until September 2012, essentially adding another 4 years onto my degree.

For some reason I started thinking of this just as the following announcement went up on the OU website “Closed to enrollment unless you are a returning student”. Giving it very little thought (as is my wont on matters of this nature), I sent an email to the finance department – wanting to find out if I would be able to get financial aid to pay for a second course in a year. I got a little anxious so I called them yesterday (Thursday), and then again today (Friday). They told me that I qualified for further aid and that I can start studying on the Shakespeare course this February.

Now, instead of being a Degree that finishes in 2012 (the year of the biggest waste of taxpayers’ money ever in the UK) my schedule looks like this:

A207 October 2005 – June 2006 (From Enlightenment to Romanticism)
A210 October 2006 – June 2007 (Approaching Literature)
A300 October 2007 – June 2008 (20th Century Literature: Texts and Debates)
A215 October 2008 – June 2009 (Creative Writing)
AA306 February 2009 – October 2009 (Shakespeare: Text and Performance)
AA316 October 2009 – June 2010 (The Nineteenth Century Novel)

In just 18 months my degree will be finished and I will be able to enrol on teacher training – the final stage in my plan to get away from where I am and onto where I want to be.

Yes, it will be 16 straight months of hard work, with the Shakespeare course overlapping both A215 and AA316, but I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel, I have been studying for longer than it takes most people (in full time education at least) to get this degree (this is my fourth year) but it’s going to be done soon and I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

