My reading list progress

As a member of a mailing list all about books I have decided to participate in their annual “50 books in a year” thing. This year has started off a little more slowly than I would have liked, having different responsibilities than in previous years has led to my being a little slower…

Books I have read so far this year:

Dead until Dark – Charlaine Harris (I thought I would give Sookie Stackhouse another try as I found her rather unreadable, un-likeable and annoying the first time out of the box – she is far more readable the second time around, though I still think she should be with Sam, Bill is a twat!)
Living Dead in Dallas – Charlaine Harris (still don’t like Bill, think that she would be better off without him)
Club Dead – Charlaine Harris (why did she rescue him at all? He’s a pillock)
Dead to the World – Charlaine Harris (thank goodness she has seen sense, though I found myself wishing she would just write him off – and perhaps accidentally trip him so he fell on a stake!)
How to Marry a Millionaire Vampire – Kerrelyn Sparks (the first in a series by an author I only came across late last year)
Be Still my Vampire Heart – Kerrelyn Sparks (though I have book 2, for some reason I have never enjoyed reading it, so this time around I skipped)
You Slay Me (Aisling Grey 1) – Katie MacAlister (I enjoy this book, the first in the Aisling Grey series, I especially love Jim and his witty asides. Aisling initially comes across as rather strong if a little bit unusual, but then to suddenly have these powers that everyone recognises except for her is a little irritating…Drake is too perfect!)
Fire Me Up (Aisling Grey 2) – Katie MacAlister (the follow-up to “You Slay Me” finds Aisling in Budapest, the characters she meets are irritating and, at best, of very little importance, but far too much time is taken up with her worrying about her split responsibilities and she fails to remember that she is independent, easily and worryingly rather quickly, falling under Drake’s thumb, at least to my mind)
Secret Vampire (Night World 1) – LJ Smith (first in a wonderful – but currently unfinished – series of Young Adult novels based in the Night World – a world like ours but full of werewolves, vampires, shapeshifters and demons. In the original run of the series – though I hear this is to change – we are in the run-up to the millennium and a war that could lead to the destruction of mankind. Poppy and James are likeable if a little dull, the second book has always been the best, Ash Redfern is the ideal bad boy).

I don’t think that 9 books in 12 days is all that bad – though by this time last year I had procrastinated my way through about 30 (if I recall correctly I was trying desperately to avoid doing homework that was due, using the flu that I had managed to contract as a reasonable excuse, though if I am being honest, a severe case of reluctance was my main reason for avoiding homework like the plague)…

Leave a Reply

