Long time no see

It’s been a long while since I have posted here – the beginning of the year in fact.

So much has happened since January that I don’t even know where to start.

I have finished my third year of Open University and just last week found out that I passed the course though it was easily the most difficult I have taken, and I was expecting to hear that I would have to retake.

Okay, so in order of things that have gone wrong/right since January:

1: My grandmother – who was diagnosed in January 2007 with lung cancer – died in May
2: I was evicted from my grandmother’s house (having lived there for 13 years) and forced to find – very quickly – alternative accommodation.
3: I managed to finish my course while looking for a new home, packing to move and arranging things for my grandmother’s funeral.
4: I moved at the beginning of July (without removal men) and now live in a top floor flat by the sea
5: I found out that I had passed my third year and now have a Diploma in Literature.

Though really it’s only five things, these five things have had an incredibly harsh impact on my life! I have found that while I love the freedom of living alone – not having to live by anyone’s schedule but my own – it can be incredibly lonely. I can go days (especially over the weekends) not seeing anyone, and the only voice I hear unless the phone rings is my own.

Well, in just a few weeks year four begins, I am going to be taking A215 (Creative Writing), and while part of me is looking forward to it, another part of me is panicking about exposing my wirting to the criticism of professionals.

Leave a Reply

