Huge Update

Though I haven’t written about it here, a lot has happened in the last few months.

First I have to start with the fact that I have managed to get a new job. I now work for a publishing house locally (though it is big, and international) – really good thing…50% discount on all books published by this company (which is a lot).

I had a friend staying with me for a few weeks, Laura travelled all the way from Arkansas and we had an amazing fortnight, I went to London and saw Wicked: The Musical, saw Patrick Stewart play Malvolio in Twelfth Night, and spent four and a half days in Salisbury, touring Stonehenge, Old Sarum, and the beauty of Salisbury Cathedral. I was very upset when she went back because it was a fantastic fortnight during which I found out about the new job I now have.

I have read all but one of the novels that are set reading for the course; for some reason every time I pick up The Ghost Road by Pat Barker I suffer this block and end up putting it back on the pile to wait for another day. I have now started the course officially, so the reading of Pat Barker’s book (I have checked) doesn’t really have to be looked at until the very end of the course – and then only if I decide that I want to write about it for the ECA at the end of the course (which I don’t know if I will to be honest).

Started all the reading last week for The Cherry Orchard by Chekhov, but it took actually watching the BBC version (with Judi Dench) to understand the humour that I seem to have missed in the play when reading through it myself. I have plans to start planning and writing the first TMA this week.

On the unfortunate side, though the course started this weekend (yesterday in fact) I have still yet to have been given any information about a tutor. I emailed the Regional Centre on Tuesday, hoping against hope that they would be able to provide me with some sort of information that would be of help, and when they finally got back to me on Thursday it was to tell me that they weren’t dealing with it, but that it was being dealt with by the London Regional Centre. Of course, by the time I managed to get hold of them (after having been given the wrong number) they were closed. On Friday however, I managed to get hold of someone who proved to be patronising, unhelpful and downright rude. I have every intention of making a complaint about him to be honest, because I came away from the phone call feeling as though I had made a nuisance of myself when I am perfectly within my rights to be concerned that a s a student on a course that requires tutors and tutorials, I have yet to be assigned a tutor.

Anyway, after checking on the student boards I know that I am not the only person who hasn’t been given any information about a tutor, though some people have come away from their phone calls without the feeling that they were being nuisances without a right to expect any kind of tutor support.

Well, now that the course has started I will be putting more time into updating this as I find that it is quite useful to know how I feel about things.

Leave a Reply

