Books

A box of books arrived today – 16 books all for me to read over the next few months, books that I will take my time over and read (although I will be taking a week off the study reading when HP 7 comes out).

I have been looking at the books that arrived (they arrived while I was at yet another job interview), and I just can’t decide which one to read first. Being honest I am actually looking forward to a number of them.

I have been reading a book I was really looking forward to getting, but right now I can’t seem to get into it – it’s not written as well as the other books in the series and this is a cause of frustration for me. The other four books that I have read were really well-written, funny, well-structured and enjoyable. This book, the fifth in the series (the sixth has only just been released in hardback) has made me feel more than a little bit disappointed in the way that the characters have failed to develop and, as with a few other series that I have come across of late, this strange need that the author has to retell so much of the other stories, as though the people reading this book haven’t read the others. Oh well, only a few more pages until it’s finished, and in the mean time I can read Rebecca or Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep and wallow in the magnificence of their composition.

Leave a Reply

