FIC: Saying Goodbye (L/V) Rating: 8

TITLE: Saying Goodbye
AUTHOR: Raye
DISCLAIMER: The characters aren’t mine, they are the property of Rob Thomas, UPN etc etc.
WORD COUNT: 629
PAIRING: Hints at V/L
FEEDBACK: If you think I deserve it
SUMMARY: It’s time for Veronica to finally say goodbye to her best friend.

It’s time to say goodbye. I know that I have been putting this off for a long time, but I was unwilling to let go, I wasn’t ready. Can I truly say that I am ready now? Probably not, but still, it’s time; I need to move on.

Kneeling beside the white marble angel that is so clean it stands out well in the cemetery filled with greying stone aged by the elements, I place the bunch of flowers I have been holding tightly like a lifeline on the neatly cut grass and lean back against the small brass plate at the base of the statue Lilly Rose, beloved daughter forever in our thoughts.

Celeste Kane may love her daughter and forever remember her, but their relationship is now viewed through rose-coloured spectacles, accurate memories dulled by the pain of loss. As long as I can remember Lilly and Celeste were at odds with each other. Lilly wanted, Celeste denied and vice versa. In the end though, Celeste will recall only what she wants to, whatever that may be.

It’s been six years since Lilly’s life was cut short, since Aaron Echolls bashed her over the head in a fit of rage (something that recently led to his end in prison – a sharpened toothbrush was the tool of choice apparently) and watched, filled with rage and frustration, as her life slowly flowed from her. That was probably the hardest thing to come to terms with. Not that she had died – seeing her body as she lay lifeless on the cement around the Kane swimming pool effectively assured that I knew she was dead – but that it had been Aaron Echolls who committed the heinous crime.

I know that Logan is still having trouble adjusting to live as the son of a murderer. Where once he had been the son of two admired actors he is now the son of an alcoholic who committed suicide, and a murderer. That’s the sort of stigma that is difficult to live down.

After school finished, and Duncan moved away, desperate to escape from the painful memories that reverberated through the Kane mansion. One minute we had been together – smiling, laughing, loving – the next minute he had been gone, vanishing into the night like a criminal.

In those first days following Duncan’s defection – it was as though he thought as little of me as his mother did (something she made more than obvious) – Logan was someone who surprised me. I thought that I had burned my bridges where Logan Echolls, class poseur extraordinaire, was concerned, but he had answered my calls, listened while I moaned on and on and on ad infinitum about the way that Duncan ditched me, and slowly I had realised that I wasn’t so much missing Duncan as I was the familiarity of having someone to lean on. Where before our relationship had been a case of any port in a storm (it was that rocky and passionate), now it was as though we were friends first and everything else, including the sex, was a secondary.

“Lilly, he’s been so good to me,” I still feel a little of the guilt when I realise that this was the boy that Lilly could have ended up with. Twisting the small diamond band on my ring finger, I shiver as a cold wind sweeps through the cemetery, making the hair on the back of my neck stand on end.

Standing up as quickly as my belly will allow (dad is always telling me now that I look like I swallowed a whole watermelon), I brush my fingertips lightly across my lips and then brush them over the tips of the angel’s wings, iridescent in the sunset. “I just wanted to say goodbye.”

4 Replies to “FIC: Saying Goodbye (L/V) Rating: 8”

  1. That was just lovely. I’m glad that Veronica got to say goodbye to Lilly. It’s too bad that it took that long. I’m also glad that she and Logan got back together and made a life for themselves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

