Not Good

Woke up this morning feeling achy, with a sore throat, a bunged up nose and a headache. This is not a good feeling. All I keep on thinking is “If I can last out today I can get everything done and then call in sick tomorrow” but I just know that this feeling is not going to go away, even as I sit here the aching is getting worse. What I really should do is collapse on the sofa in front of the TV and fall asleep again (I have been awake a grand total of 1 hour and 17 minutes so far (yep, woke up before the alarm).

As I sit here debating what I should do – I really don’t want to let the company down (not that they actually give a shit about me, but I think about all the other poor buggers who just wouldn’t be able to cope) but I know that I am not going to be at my functional best (already just typing this I have had to use spell-check to help me spell out ‘achy’ – that’s how bad my brain is today). In general I feel weak, achy and tired (which considering I have just woken up from a six-and-a-half hour sleep is not good at all).

If I don’t go in then it’s not as though it’s going to be a pleasure day; no internet (because I try to limit the surfing to once a day). None of my books (apart from the book club one) are with me, and I can’t really concentrate for too long on the computer screen. It would be joyous fun, sitting/lying on the sofa trying to watch tv (and believe me when I say daytime tv is crap!

Oh well, I am sure that I will figure it out. I have given myself until 8 to decide how I feel (which isn’t good right now and it’s already 10 to), and then I will call in sick. I am not in a practical location to go to the doctor, but to be honest I think that what I have is a case of an annoying summer cold!

Signing off as have nothing else to say about how I feel right now apart from “I WANT MY OWN BED!”

Leave a Reply

