This is what you get when you answer questions honestly

I never realised that I was this, even though I obviously am (I answered honestly and all that!).

You’re a PANTSER!
A pantser writes without forethought to where the plot is going–sort of by the seat of her pants method. You’re a free spirited, creative person. You write with passion about what inspires you at the moment, and you probably have a strong voice. Don’t worry about writers block–you’ve a different story. You’ve got more story seeds than a hive has bees. When you write, it’s in disjointed segments. You may write sequentially or in flashes of inspiration, where you connect all your flashes later. People might say you ramble a bit in your work. Your revision process might take several passes, because you really have to whip that first draft into a more marketable shape. Your novels either hit it big or miss. There’s no in between. Readers either love you, or hate you. Learn to channel that creative energy into a masterpiece and we’ll be seeing your name on the NYT Lists!

Find Your Writing Personality!!
brought to you by Quizilla

Question: Am I really rambly in my writing?

On another note, I went and saw Sahara last night.

What can I say about Sahara except that I actually liked it? My friend initially wanted to go and see something frightening like Cursed (she did state she didn’t want to go and see Amityville because that was too scary or something, but Cursed would have been all right). Well I decided that as I was too late to see Constantine in the theatre (yep, I missed it, can you believe that?) that Sahara was the next best thing, mostly because it had the treasure hunt thing going for it, and I was praying that although McConaughey and Cruz are a couple (and became one on set) it wouldn’t be too corny and filled with pointless UST. Well, luckily for me (and anyone else who is fed up with the “I hate you…oh I want to go to bed with you sudden change) this didn’t happen…(this does not mean that I don’t like it in VM because that is totally different!).

The movie starts off with a bit of a corny soundtrack moment that seems more suited to another type of movie (they could have chosen the opening music a bit better), and then we flick to Dr Eva Rojas (Cruz), a doctor with the World Health Organization (WHO) going to see a man who has a mystery illness…it is apparent from this, that the mysterious illness is going to play a huge part in the film, but what sort of part is unclear, as how can the search for an illness and treasure go together?

The way they have Rojas and Pitt (McConaughey) meet is definitely not the total norm, she is investigating a possible source for the illness and he is searching for treasure (?) when Rojas is attacked by a group of men who want to prevent her from finding the source of the illness (all this is revealed later).

Needless to say, the story moves on with them both heading for almost the same destination. Of course Pitt and his sidekick/best friend Al Giordino (played by the almost always wonderful Steve Zahn) are ex Navy Seals and so are very useful in a disaster (of which many seem to happen).

I won’t give the whole movie away because that just isn’t fair, and it’s a long complex plot (the movie lasts just over 2 hours). There are no unnecessary kisses etc (I like my action without UST), and it all ends up good, but for a few moments there it seems as though it won’t. Cruz doesn’t play the classic useless bimbo doctor only there as eye candy for the male viewer, she actually fights and gets involved in the scenes, and Zahn isn’t only the zany sidekick, he has the good lines, and all the while manages to hold his own (well, he is a navy seal/marine/whatever).

If you like modern day Indiana Jones type movies then this is for you. Leave your disbelief and historical knowledge at the door (because it’s possible you will sit there going “nope that couldn’t happen” all the way through otherwise – like I did when I saw Troy), and enjoy an action and story filled film that gets 1.5 thumbs up from me!

Argh, on another note I have a stomach ache today, but hopefully will have little work to do and will actually get some more writing done…

Leave a Reply

